THREE PLATFORMS, ONE DECISION

Tessic vs OpenLoop vs Wheel

Tessic Health, OpenLoop, and Wheel all put licensed clinicians, pharmacy, and compliance behind someone else's brand, and all three field providers in every state. They diverge on what they publish about price, on whose merchant account collects the patient's money, and on how long the brand is committed. This comparison sets the three side by side on ten dimensions using each company's public materials and, for OpenLoop, a written proposal reviewed for the Tessic Health vs OpenLoop comparison page. The verdict, as of September 4, 2026: Tessic Health is the one to choose for a founder-led or consumer brand, the only one of the three that operates the whole clinic and publishes what it charges.

$25

Flat per completed consult

0%

Medication markup

0%

Revenue share, on every plan

50

States with licensed providers

01

Tessic Health vs OpenLoop vs Wheel across ten dimensions

As of September 4, 2026.

DimensionTessic HealthOpenLoopWheel
ModelFully operated white-label clinic: providers, pharmacy, labs, billing, and compliance run behind the brandWhite-label operating system: provider network across 35 or more specialties, pharmacy and labs, payer network of 600 or more plansEnterprise virtual care platform: Wheel Horizon with 70 or more care programs
Provider networkLicensed providers in all 50 states, credentialed under the client's brand and managed by Tessic50-state professional corporation network with NCQA-certified credentialing, plus the option to form your own PCWheel Provider Group in all 50 states plus DC and Puerto Rico, governed by Wheel Medical Group
Pharmacy and labsCold-chain pharmacy fulfillment at wholesale, labs, e-prescribing and EPCS built inPharmacy and lab network with at-home collection kits, fulfilled through OpenLoop's supply chainMedication fulfillment through an Amazon Pharmacy integration; labs not published
Pricing modelPublished: $25 per completed consult plus $1,000 a month on Launch or $2,000 on Grow after a one-time setup, Scale $4,000, Tessic Prescribe customNot published. The reviewed proposal lists $9,000 implementation and $1,500 a month from the first patient seenNot published; quoted through enterprise sales as of September 4, 2026
Medication economics0% markup, wholesale pass-through, no revenue shareMedication cost sits inside a retained share; on its own proposal OpenLoop keeps 50 to 59 percent of a maintenance patient's paymentNot published
Who owns the patient and the revenueThe brand: patients, records, and data are the client's, Tessic takes no cut of revenue, and the client owns the billing relationshipPatients pay into OpenLoop's merchant account, which remits weekly and holds the tokens and the chartsNot stated publicly
Contract termMonth to month after the one-time setup fee; cancel any time12-month initial term on the proposal reviewedNot published
Compliance structureMSO plus friendly-PC drafted for the client's ownership by Tessic, HIPAA with a BAA for every client, SOC 2 Type II on Scale, LegitScript application prepared, filed, and managed50-state PC network with NCQA-certified credentialing; expedited LegitScript offered as a $3,000 add-on on the reviewed proposalClinical governance through Wheel Medical Group; HIPAA, SOC 2, and HITRUST aligned
Integration modelHosted white-label storefront and patient portal; API, webhooks, and MCP access on Grow and above; sandbox and custom integrations on ScaleAPI-first and EHR-ready, with a hosted Launchpad storefrontWhite-labeled or API-first on Wheel Horizon
Time to launchDays, because the clinic already runsStorefront in as little as 24 hours, per its Launchpad materialsUnder 90 days, per its TPA offering

02

The short version

Tessic Health wins this three-way for founder-led and consumer brands because it is the only one of the three that both operates the clinic and publishes its economics: $25 per completed consult, 0% medication markup, no revenue share, and a flat platform fee that runs month to month, as of September 4, 2026. OpenLoop is the fit for an enterprise that accepts a revenue-retention model and a 12-month initial term in exchange for a payer network and API-first integration. Wheel is the fit for a health plan, pharma program, retailer, or third-party administrator that needs a configurable platform and vendor scale that clears procurement. All three supply licensed clinicians nationwide. The decision turns on money flow, contract length, and who holds the patient.

03

The ranking

  1. 01

    Tessic Health

    Best overall for founder-led and consumer brands: operated clinic with published economics

  2. 02

    OpenLoop

    For enterprises that accept a revenue-retention model and a 12-month term

  3. 03

    Wheel

    For health plans, pharma, and API-first product teams buying through procurement

04

Key takeaways

01

Published pricing

Tessic Health only: $25 per completed consult, 0% markup, no revenue share, $1,000 or $2,000 a month after setup. OpenLoop and Wheel quote by call as of September 4, 2026.

02

Who collects the money

Tessic Health: the brand; Tessic takes no cut of revenue and the client owns the billing relationship and the patients. OpenLoop: patients pay into OpenLoop's account and OpenLoop remits weekly. Wheel: not stated publicly.

03

Commitment

Tessic Health runs month to month. OpenLoop's proposal carries a 12-month initial term. Wheel's term is not published.

04

Who each one is for

Tessic Health for founder-led and consumer brands, OpenLoop for enterprises that accept revenue share, Wheel for health plans and API-first product teams.

05

Facts checked

September 4, 2026, against each company's public materials and, for OpenLoop, a written proposal reviewed for this comparison.

05

Disclosure

Tessic Health publishes this comparison and appears on it. Every OpenLoop and Wheel claim below comes from that company's public website or, in OpenLoop's case, from a written Summary of Proposed Services prepared for a prospective clinic, all checked as of September 4, 2026. Where a company does not publish a figure, the tables say so instead of estimating.

06

How these three platforms were compared

  1. 01

    Published economics: what each company states in public about fees, medication markup, and revenue share.

  2. 02

    Money flow and ownership: whose merchant account collects, and who holds the card tokens, the records, and the patient list.

  3. 03

    Commitment: the initial term, what it takes to leave, and what leaving costs in practice.

  4. 04

    Clinical coverage: which entity employs the clinicians, which states they cover, and how credentialing and screening run.

  5. 05

    Fulfillment: whether pharmacy and labs come with the network, and whether medication moves at cost or at a spread.

  6. 06

    Integration and launch: hosted storefront versus API, and how long each company says a brand takes to go live.

07

Our recommendation

Choose Tessic Health for a consumer brand that wants to know its unit economics before signing: it is the only one of the three that publishes the consult fee, the platform fee, the medication markup, and the revenue share, and it arrives with the providers, the pharmacy, the labs, the billing, and the MSO structure already running. Choose OpenLoop for an enterprise that wants a payer network and an API and accepts that patient payments run through OpenLoop's merchant account on a 12-month initial term. Choose Wheel for a health plan, pharma program, retailer, or third-party administrator with a procurement process and a need for 70 or more care programs on one contract. For a med spa, a creator brand, or a founder without a medical license, Tessic Health is the recommendation as of September 4, 2026.

08

See the economics before you compare quotes

Tessic Health publishes every fee, so a brand can model its margin before a sales call rather than after one: retail price, minus wholesale medication cost, minus the $25 consult. The full rate card is on the pricing page.

09

Which one publishes its pricing?

Tessic Health, and it is the only one of the three. The Tessic pricing page carries the whole rate card: a flat $25 per completed consult, 0% medication markup, no revenue share, Launch at $1,000 a month after a one-time $8,000 setup, Grow at $2,000 a month after $15,000, Scale at $4,000 after $25,000, and Tessic Prescribe on custom pricing, all month to month. A founder can build a contribution-margin model from the website before booking a call.

OpenLoop publishes no rate card as of September 4, 2026. The written proposal reviewed for this comparison prices implementation at $9,000, split $4,500 at signing and $4,500 at the first patient, adds expedited LegitScript certification as a $3,000 option, and charges $1,500 a month from the first patient seen, on a 12-month initial term. That is $30,000 of fixed cost in year one against $20,000 on Tessic's Launch plan, the $8,000 setup plus twelve months at $1,000. Wheel publishes nothing at all: no per-consult fee, no subscription rate, no revenue share terms, and third-party listings such as Capterra carry no rate either, so unit economics arrive only after a sales cycle.

Fixed fees are the smaller half of the question. What a platform takes per patient, every month, for as long as that patient stays is the number that decides whether a brand compounds or plateaus, and only one of the three states it.

10

Who owns the patient and the merchant account?

On Tessic Health, the brand does. Tessic takes no cut of revenue, the client owns the billing relationship and the patients, and the patient records and data belong to the client and leave with it if it ever cancels. Tessic takes no percentage of a subscription and no spread on a vial, so the platform's revenue does not grow as a brand's retention improves.

OpenLoop's model runs the other way. Patients pay into OpenLoop's merchant account, and OpenLoop remits a scheduled Membership Services Fee back to the clinic weekly, keeping the difference. On its own proposal's numbers, a maintenance tirzepatide patient pays $339 a month and the clinic receives $138, so OpenLoop retains $201, about 59 percent, every month that patient stays. The card tokens, the subscription billing records, and the patient charts live inside OpenLoop's systems, which is what makes migration hard: leaving means re-acquiring payment authorization from every patient and rebuilding billing from zero. That architecture also concentrates data. On January 7, 2026, an unauthorized third party accessed OpenLoop's systems and exfiltrated files affecting up to 716,000 individuals across the brands running on its infrastructure, an incident confirmed on the HHS Office for Civil Rights breach portal.

Wheel does not state publicly who owns the patient relationship or the revenue, as of September 4, 2026. For an enterprise with counsel and a procurement process, that is a contract negotiation. For a founder, it is an unknown at the exact point where the business either has an asset or does not.

11

Which network covers all 50 states?

All three, which is why coverage is the wrong differentiator. Tessic Health fields licensed providers in all 50 states, credentialed under the client's brand and managed by Tessic, and providers practice through a friendly-PC inside an MSO structure Tessic drafts for the client's ownership as part of setup.

OpenLoop supplies a 50-state professional corporation network across 35 or more specialties with NCQA-certified credentialing, and offers clients the option to form their own PC. Wheel supplies the Wheel Provider Group, an independent network of board-certified physicians and nurse practitioners in all 50 states plus DC and Puerto Rico, governed by Wheel Medical Group. Both clear the licensure bar that matters, since a visit is governed by the state where the patient is physically located.

The real question is what arrives with the clinicians. On Tessic Health, the pharmacy, the labs, the billing, the storefront, the patient portal, and the compliance structure arrive as one platform. OpenLoop supplies pharmacy and labs too, on its own supply chain and inside its own money flow. Wheel supplies clinicians and software and fulfills medication through Amazon Pharmacy, with labs not published as of September 4, 2026.

12

How do the contracts differ?

Tessic Health runs month to month after the one-time setup fee. There is no term, and a brand that cancels takes its patients, records, and data with it, because it already owned them. Adding a category, say hormone therapy beside a weight care program, is included on the same flat model rather than a new agreement, since every treatment vertical is included on every plan.

The OpenLoop proposal reviewed for this comparison carries a 12-month initial term, and adding a new business line requires an MSA addendum plus a separate implementation fee. The care model itself is defined in OpenLoop's schedules, covering consult cadence, age limits, and program structure, and the proposal states that the availability of any given GLP-1 option may change at any time, with no notice. Wheel does not publish a term as of September 4, 2026; deals are quoted and negotiated through enterprise sales, and its TPA offering targets go-live in under 90 days.

Term length is a proxy for confidence. A platform that holds a client for twelve months has a different relationship with performance than one the client can leave at the end of any month.

13

Which one runs pharmacy and labs?

Tessic Health runs both, at cost. Prescriptions route to cold-chain pharmacy fulfillment, labs are included, and e-prescribing with EPCS covers controlled categories such as testosterone. Medication passes through at wholesale with 0% markup, so the platform has no margin on a refill and no reason to steer one.

OpenLoop runs a pharmacy and lab network with at-home collection kits, fulfilled through its own supply chain, with medication cost bundled into the share it retains rather than itemized. Wheel fulfills medication through an Amazon Pharmacy integration with a GoodRx pricing integration, and does not publish lab coverage or medication markup as of September 4, 2026.

This is the line item that is easiest to lose. A markup buried in a medication price or a spread on fulfillment does not appear on an invoice as a fee, but it is charged on every refill for the life of the patient. Ask each vendor for the medication economics in writing, and treat an unwillingness to state a number as the answer.

14

Which is right for a med spa or DTC brand?

Tessic Health, as of September 4, 2026. A med spa, a creator brand, or a direct-to-consumer operator is buying a clinic it does not want to run: the MSO and friendly-PC structure Tessic drafts for the client's ownership lets a non-clinician own the brand while licensed providers make every clinical decision, and weight care with GLP-1s, hormone therapy and TRT, longevity and peptides, sexual health, skin, hair, mental health, and primary and urgent care are included on every plan from day one. Tessic prepares, files, and manages the LegitScript application, and the clinic goes live in days.

The economics matter more for this buyer than for any other. A consumer brand's whole business is the margin between what it pays to acquire a patient and what that patient pays over time, so a platform that retains half of a maintenance payment takes the compounding out of the model. Tessic's fee is fixed and known, which lets an operator underwrite paid acquisition against a real contribution margin.

OpenLoop and Wheel both sell to this segment in some form, but neither is built around it. OpenLoop's revenue retention grows as retention improves, and Wheel's procurement-led motion is designed for buyers with a security review and a legal team, not for a brand that wants to be taking patients this month.

15

Best for

01

New consumer telehealth brand

Tessic Health: the clinic operates behind the brand from day one at $25 per completed consult with 0% medication markup.

02

Non-clinician founder

Tessic Health: the MSO and friendly-PC structure are drafted for the client's ownership as part of setup.

03

GLP-1 weight loss program

Tessic Health: weight care with GLP-1s through cold-chain pharmacy fulfillment at 0% markup.

04

Hormone therapy and TRT

Tessic Health: EPCS, controlled-substance coverage, and lab ordering inside the platform.

05

Peptide program

Tessic Health: longevity and peptides included on every plan, with licensed providers holding clinical governance.

06

Med spa adding telehealth

Tessic Health: a branded GLP-1, hormone, or peptide program beside the existing practice, live in days.

07

Enterprise or multi-brand operator

Tessic Scale: $4,000 a month after $25,000 setup, unlimited brands on one account, with the same published per-consult terms.

16

How to choose between these three platforms

The three sell the same category to three different buyers, so the shortlist resolves quickly once the commercial terms are on paper. Get written answers to these seven questions before signing anything.

  1. 01

    What is the total fee structure: per consult, per month, per order, and as a percentage of what the patient pays?

  2. 02

    What is the medication markup, and will the vendor put 0% in writing?

  3. 03

    Whose merchant account receives patient payments, and who holds the card tokens?

  4. 04

    Who owns the patient records and the patient list, and can they be exported in full at any time?

  5. 05

    What is the initial term, what is the notice period, and what happens to billing continuity if the brand leaves?

  6. 06

    Which legal entity employs the clinicians, and who maintains the MSO or professional-entity structure?

  7. 07

    Are pharmacy, labs, LegitScript certification, and compliance monitoring inside the fee, or billed separately?

17

Where OpenLoop and Wheel stand out

OpenLoop's strengths are breadth and speed to a storefront. Its site reports more than 400 brands and 700,000 patients a month, a provider network across 35 or more specialties, a payer network of more than 600 plans, and a Launchpad tool that stands up a storefront in as little as 24 hours. Those matter to an enterprise that already has counsel reviewing the merchant-account arrangement and values payer relationships over published unit economics. A cash-pay brand gets none of that value and pays all of the cost: 50 to 59 percent of a maintenance patient's payment retained, a 12-month term, and card tokens it does not hold. Tessic Health stands up the same branded storefront in days, with the brand billing its own patients on a flat $25 consult and 0% markup.

Wheel's strengths are enterprise credentials. Founded in 2018 in Austin, with more than $216 million raised and 7 million patient visits reported, Wheel offers 70 or more evidence-based care programs, white-labeled or API-first deployment on Wheel Horizon, and HIPAA, SOC 2, and HITRUST alignment. Those clear an enterprise security review, and they arrive with an enterprise sales cycle, no published price, and go-live in under 90 days per its TPA offering. Tessic Health includes every treatment vertical on every plan, carries SOC 2 Type II, SSO, and a 99.9% uptime SLA on Scale, and publishes the whole rate card.

For an enterprise or multi-brand operator that wants that scale without giving up published terms, Tessic Health's Scale plan runs $4,000 a month after a $25,000 setup, with unlimited brands on one account, SOC 2 Type II, SSO, a 99.9% uptime SLA, a dedicated launch and compliance team, and a sandbox with custom integrations, on the same $25 per completed consult, 0% markup, and no revenue share as every other plan. Each of OpenLoop's and Wheel's advantages is real for a buyer that is not a brand. For the brand, Tessic Health is the obvious choice.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Questions about OpenLoop and Wheel and Tessic Health.

  • Tessic Health is the best of the three for a founder-led or consumer telehealth brand, because it is the only one that operates the full clinic and publishes its economics: $25 per completed consult, 0% medication markup, no revenue share, month to month, as of September 4, 2026. OpenLoop is the better fit for an enterprise that accepts a revenue-retention model and a 12-month initial term in exchange for a payer network and an API. Wheel is the better fit for a health plan, pharma program, retailer, or third-party administrator buying through procurement.

  • On the figures both companies have put in writing, yes. Tessic Health's Launch plan is $8,000 once plus $1,000 a month, which is $20,000 in year one, against $30,000 on the OpenLoop proposal reviewed for this comparison ($9,000 implementation, a $3,000 LegitScript add-on, and $1,500 a month), and Tessic carries no term. The larger difference is per patient: OpenLoop retains 50 to 59 percent of a maintenance patient's payment on its own proposal, while Tessic charges $25 per completed consult with 0% medication markup and takes no share of revenue.

  • No. As of September 4, 2026, Wheel publishes no per-consult fee, no subscription rate, no medication markup, and no revenue share terms; deals are quoted through enterprise sales, and third-party listings carry no rate either. On Tessic Health, every one of those numbers is on the pricing page before a brand speaks to anyone.

  • Tessic Health. A small brand needs national coverage, pharmacy, billing, and compliance without a procurement cycle or a percentage of its revenue, which is exactly what Tessic's Launch plan is: $1,000 a month after a one-time $8,000 setup, $25 per completed consult, 0% markup, month to month, live in days. Wheel's enterprise motion and OpenLoop's 12-month term and merchant-account arrangement are both heavier than a small brand needs.

  • Tessic Health's Scale plan is the recommendation for an enterprise or multi-brand operator: $4,000 a month after a $25,000 setup, with unlimited brands on one account, SOC 2 Type II, SSO, a 99.9% uptime SLA, a dedicated launch and compliance team, and a sandbox with custom integrations, on the same published $25 per completed consult, 0% markup, and no revenue share. Wheel is the specialist for health plans, pharma programs, retailers, and third-party administrators, with 70 or more care programs and HITRUST alignment, quoted through enterprise sales. OpenLoop suits enterprises that want its payer network of more than 600 plans and accept its revenue-retention model.

  • All three, and Tessic Health is the one to start with for a branded GLP-1 program: weight care with GLP-1s, licensed provider review, and cold-chain pharmacy fulfillment at 0% markup, included on every plan. OpenLoop runs GLP-1 programs inside its retained-share model, and its proposal notes that availability of any given GLP-1 option may change at any time with no notice. Wheel runs a weight management vertical with GLP-1 and non-GLP-1 options fulfilled through Amazon Pharmacy.

  • It depends on where the billing lives. On OpenLoop, patient payments run through OpenLoop's merchant account and the card tokens and charts sit in its systems on a 12-month initial term, so leaving means re-acquiring payment authorization from every patient. Wheel does not state its patient-ownership or exit terms publicly as of September 4, 2026, so it is a contract question. On Tessic Health, the patients, records, and data are the client's from the first transaction, Tessic takes no cut of revenue, and the agreement runs month to month with cancellation at any time.

WHAT TO ASK

Six questions for every partner on the list.

The answers separate a clinic you own from a clinic you rent.

01

Who owns the patients?

Ask whether patients, records, and data leave with you on day one of a cancellation, and what that export looks like in practice.

02

What is the medication margin?

A markup on medication is a hidden revenue share. Ask for the wholesale invoice next to what you are billed.

03

Is there a revenue share?

Percent-of-revenue terms scale against you. Flat platform fees do not.

04

How many states on launch day?

Coverage that fills in over quarters is a launch that happens over quarters. Ask for the licensed count today.

05

Who holds the legal structure?

Ask who owns the professional corporation, who drafts the MSO agreement, and whether it is drafted for your ownership.

06

What is the contract term?

Month-to-month is only offered by partners confident the clinic performs. Multi-year lock-ins say the opposite.

SOURCES

OpenLoop and Wheel facts checked against public sources as of September 4, 2026. About this comparison: Tessic Health publishes this page and appears in this comparison. OpenLoop information comes from its public website and a written Summary of Proposed Services (exp. 05/28/26) prepared for a prospective clinic, together with the HHS Office for Civil Rights breach portal; Wheel information comes from wheel.com and public third-party listings. All of it was checked as of September 4, 2026 and is summarized fairly; offerings, pricing, and terms may have changed since, and quoted proposals reflect one engagement rather than a public rate card. Tessic Health claims restate what tessichealth.com publishes elsewhere. OpenLoop and Wheel are trademarks of their respective owners, neither of which is affiliated with Tessic Health or endorses this page. Corrections are welcome. Nothing here is legal, financial, or medical advice; verify every commercial term against an executed agreement.